top of page

Finding a Standard For Your Creative Work (Part One: Journey)


Recently, I've posted a couple of "new pieces" for sale on my Etsy Shop. Except, they weren't "new" at all. I've posted these pieces onto my Etsy Shop a few different times at a few different stages of my art career. Early posts featured the unframed, unmatted, poorly lit photographs of these art pieces. Now, the pieces "Buzz," "Rip," and "Ghostie's Return" are all well protected in gorgeous frames and displayed in a professional mat.

Honestly, there were points in my career where I felt guilty for attempting to sell my artwork. I did as much research as I could, but it seemed that I could never figure out what the "right way" was. I wasn't sure of the right way to display my work, the right way to price my work, the right way to present my work. I came down with a serious case of Impostor Syndrome. I feared it was a matter of time before a "real artist" or a more informed consumer would call me out for my unprofessionalism.

But I persevered. I was aware of my lack of knowledge, and worked hard to make my weaknesses into my strengths. I experimented with different displays, pricings, presentations, and packages. I took notes from other artists that I followed: How were they showing off their work? What materials did they use to showcase their professionalism? I allowed myself to change my techniques even if I was scared my followers would be annoyed by it.

Ghostie's Return Original

Finding the methods that work for your career will not be a step in your journey; it will be a long trek filled with confusing, difficult obstacles. You will fail. You will have moments that you regret. You will make excuses: "I don't have the right camera," "I don't have the right equipment." However, if you do not take the journey because you are paralyzed with fear, you will never develop into the artist that you want to be. So, ask yourself if you feel comfortable with the professionalism of your work. And if you don't, adjust until you do.

In the next part of this blog, I will detail the methods that I currently use to get my photographs + posts to the highest quality that I can! I'm certainly not perfect, but maybe the methods I use can give you a starting point for capturing your own work.

Thanks for Reading, Dolls!

Desire'

bottom of page